Thread: SO the next time the guy at Discount tells you an impact gun is okay...

Default SO the next time the guy at Discount tells you an impact gun is okay...

You can tell him this.

I’ve been attending a seminar this week on fastening technology and bolted joint design (hey, I’m an engineer. It’s what I do.) Anyway, one of yesterday’s subjects involved bolt tightening methods, and how to account for tool inaccuracy when designing bolted connections.

One of the numbers that stood out to me was this: with a well-maintained impact gun, the best accuracy you’ll ever get is +/- 60%. In other words, if your lug nuts have a nominal torque value of 80 ft-lbs, then even if that monkey down at Discount has a brand new gun and sets it properly (which they don’t), you could end up with nuts torqued anywhere from 128 ft-lbs to 32 ft-lbs. Using a “torque stick” doesn’t make a bit of difference in this scatter.

So, just a reminder: always make sure the monkey at your local tire shop reinstalls your wheels by hand and torques them with a torque wrench. This isn’t a perfect method, but it’s a lot more accurate than an impact gun, regardless of what the monkey tries to tell you!
    Iain

"We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw

Ouch.... One of those Monkey's had his hands on my Honda nuts yesterday!
    Highlight Silver & Tan 99 "With a Style Bar"
    http://www.cardomain.com/id/riverracer
    Member AARP & Meals on Wheels.....
    Everything else just "Depends"........

Even a torque wrench is only as good as the nut on the handle.

But I would rather have the nut use a torque wrench than an impact wrench.
    05 MX-5 Mazdaspeed #1024 Titanium Gray Mica