Thread: How to price a high mileage used car...

Default How to price a high mileage used car...

I have someone wanting to buy my element who is in a bit of a pickle and really needs a car, but no idea what it's really worth. Don't want to be a douche and overprice it, but not sure if I really want to let it go. I know we have some car selling savy people on the board, i'd appreciate the help. I went through this with the van but ended up handing it over to a desperate family member for some change before I really tried to sell it so i'm still a newbie car salesman.

Edmunds has 2.2k. KBB has it listed for 2.2 - 2.7k in fair to good condition. NADA has it valued at 4k.
    I've seen a few on autotrader with similar miles selling for 6-8k. Of course I have no idea how long they've been listed or what they sold for. I've debated taking it to CarMax but i've heard they're not friendly to old beaters.

I've read that KBB is overpriced by about 20%, the others are more and NADA isn't reliable at all. Something's not right though, I can't imagine this things value tanking toward mid 90s pontiac levels. But maybe i'm wrong and at that point there's no reason to not hang on to it.

I'm still debating selling the Element since it's so dang handy and not in need of cash at the moment, but having a decent idea of what it's worth would help the decision.

2003 EX, FWD, 5spd manual. 185k miles.
    Roof rack and premium sound(oem sub)
    Fair condition. Has axel vibration, cracked windshield, shot motor mounts, creaky popping suspension, basic things reflecting the mileage. Everything else is super solid mechanically. A few big hail dents, but paint is good. Scuffed plastic fender
    Last edited by Jiggerachi; 02-01-2014 at 08:59 AM.
    '94 C-Package Black & Tan | MS3x | exhintake | USDM Tein Monoflex 10/8k | My 8 year roadster evolution