Thread: Start in track racing

Default Start in track racing

I have been seriously considering lately actually participating in Open Track. However, since I am a University student, and most of my income goes to the State, this will be done on the cheap and spread over a long amount of time. (however, I should have finally written my final BIG tuition check, I should only have one last small check to write for one class in Fall of 0.

What is the best way to start? My midterm goal is to develop a track-only car and a membership at something like MSR or Eagle's Canyon. I have some clue how to get there, but there are a few blanks.

So far, here is my plan:

Phase 1) Restart participation in Solo II with my NC, at 5/10 to 7/10 effort. I don't want to break my new car and ruin the tires too fast. This will most likely start in the May event. I currently take 3 graduate level classes and I expect to have an ever decreasing amount of free time until exams in the first week of May. However, as mentioned earlier I will only have one in Fall of 08 and should have a greater amount of free time. Also during this phase I will source my own helmet and a set of Solo II-only tires and wheels.

Phase 2) I don't know if I should seek a driving school and possible racing license? At what point in my plan should I seek a license?