Thread: OK to use an SA helmet on a motorcycle?

Default OK to use an SA helmet on a motorcycle?

I've been thinking about buying a motorcycle. I'm an engineer, so I love spreadsheets. One of my spreadsheets adds up the cost of gear I'd have to buy if I bought a motorcycle.

I'm not sure if I should add the cost of a helmet to this spreadsheet. I already have two very nice SA helmets - an SA00 Simpson Super Bandit and an SA05 HJC Si-12. Could I use these helmets on a motorcycle legally - and more importantly - safely?
    Iain

"We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw

Legally - I don't think there is a helmet law in Texas, is there? So no worries there.

Safely - Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the major/only difference between SA and M helmets is that the SAs need to have a certain lining material that is fire resistant? I remember something about multiple impacts when I was looking at helmets for my snowmobiles too, but don't remember seeing any concrete proof of that.

That said, I always had M-rated helmets for my bike (and snowmobiles), but I'd MUCH sooner wear a current SA helmet than none at all.

Here you go......Not sure of the Snell rating though.

J/K I can't believe people don't wear a helmet.

From the Snell web site.

What are the differences between the SA, M and K standards?
    The SA standard was designed for competitive auto racing while M standard was for motorcycling and other motorsports. The K standard was released to accommodate helmets used in karting. There are three major differences between them:
    The SA standard requires flammability test while the M and K standards do not.
    The SA and K standards allow for a narrower visual field than M standard (Some SA and K certified helmets may not be street legal).
    The SA and K standards include a rollbar multi impact test while M standard does not