Thread: Flyin Miata Tool Kit

Default Flyin Miata Tool Kit

Getting all my tools and parts together to do a timing belt change in the next few weeks. I was going to have TDR do it but the water pump is leaking to bad to get it there. I'm going with the kit from Rosenthal that includes the water pump, timing belt, seal, etc. I was looking on the Flyin Miata wesite and they had a tool kit that included a crank bolt tool, front seal installer and cam gear ninja tool for $49.95. Will this make my life easier? I hate spending $50 for a one time use but if it makes the job easier it's worth it. I will just loan it out to the next Miata person that might need it.
    Nothing like the whine of a SC at full throttle!

Being a mechanic newbie, I did my tb job without any of those and didnt seem too hard. But my crank bolt was already loose so I cant speak to that. I just put it in gear to retorque the crank bolt.

Probably would make it easier but definitely not necessary. Worth 50, not sure. Maybe if you have more money than time then perhaps...i was the opposite, though, I went the cheap route.

The ninja tool is cool though. Id like to have on just for a keychain.
    '94 C-Package Black & Tan | MS3x | exhintake | USDM Tein Monoflex 10/8k | My 8 year roadster evolution

I definitely don't have money to waste! I'm pretty good with tools and do most of my own work but have never done a TB change. Since it's not broken, I was guessing the ninja tool would work. Not sure if I even need the other 2 tools. Supposedly the TB has been changed before so the bolts shouldn't be to hard to remove but that other Miata shop near TDR said they did it before I bought the car so who knows!

If I'm ever the one changing my timing belt, I'll probably just get the ninja tool to make it simpler.
    At least that part seems worth the money to me, and I don't have extra cash either.
    Seems to me like the other two tools probably aren't needed in your case.