Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Awwww.... Hail!!!

Default Awwww.... Hail!!!

The roadster got left outside in the hail while I was at work tonight. We mostly had pea-sized hail but had about two minutes of marble sized hail mixed in.

I don't know if I have any damage. We'll see when I wash it again if anything happened.

How big does hail have to be to leave dents?
    ...and across the line.

1996 Mazda Miata - R-Package (Eve-L)
    2012 Mazda CX-9 - Grand Touring (Dory)

Quote Originally Posted by black roadster View Post
    How big does hail have to be to leave dents?
    I'm not an expert mind you, but my experience has been marble size wont dent the sheet metal on your car. It needs to get a little bigger, say the size of a quarter, before you see dents.
    --
    Dave
    "Opinions are like ..."

Banned

I beg to differ, a bird fart can dent our aluminum hoods, and my fenders are paper thin. But, Roadster, where do you work? We, being in the bananna belt of McKinney got like two drops. Wanted more for the lawn, but I guess I'm gonna have to pay to water now.

We were driving back from Granbury about 7:30 on 377 when the hail hit (literally!). We could see holes in the cloud cover off to the north so we sped up to get to cresson to turn north. It was the correct thing to do, as the hail lessened and soon stopped going up 171. Most everyone else was stopping on the side of the road, and every place in Cresson that had any kind of roof was packed with cars. Shelley says the SIX has damage, but I haven't looked yet.

Unfortunately, that storm continued due south and right over the Granbury house. I'm scared to go back down and look for damage.......

It was pea/marble sized hail that left the 10-15 dents in my hood and trunk lid back in 2000.
    Smile
    93' LE #1136 - FM II
    250k miles