Thread: Cowtown Sprints, Evil goes racing again

Default Cowtown Sprints, Evil goes racing again

[novel]

As some of you know, I raced at TMS this weekend. It was an SCCA double regional club race. I drove our 'old' 1.6l spec miata. This was my second and third regional races and finished up my regional license. I'm now a licensed race car driver! Yeah!

Heres how the weekend shook out. It didn't go quite like I'd hoped in some ways, but went really well in other ways. The car had a new motor built by the same guys who do our world challenge motors. It was supposed to be a really hot motor, but I didn't really know what to expect out of a 'stock' miata motor. I got to test on friday and it was very worth the extra money to have some time to learn the track and get used to the car. I seemed to be really fast compared to everybody else, but its always hard to tell when testing. The car ran great and I pulled everybody pretty hard on the straights.

Saturday was an eye opener. I knew it would be. Qualifying was at about 10:30 in the morning, the weather was good and I drove as hard as I thought I could. I finally got turn 1 right about half way through the session. When you do it right, its a totally flat 5th gear 117mph left hand sweeper (nascar turn 1, but we're not allowed to use the banking). the apron (below the banking where we have to drive) is really bumpy and its a really freaky corner. I qualified 22nd out of 43. Not bad, not great. I just wanted to finish in the top half.