Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Miata as a daily driver/commuter, thoughts?

Default Miata as a daily driver/commuter, thoughts?

Hey guys, I am thinking of selling my Protege5 so that I can pay off some debt and pay for school. I was thinking of getting a Miata. I've been wanting one for a long time so this might be a good time to get one. Basically I just want to know if these cars can be reliable enough as a daily driver and commuter car back and forth to school and work. I appreciate your inputs.

-Matt

Team Cheap Bastard
    President & Founder

They are definitely reliable enough. How long of a commute do you have? Do you easily fit in a Miata?

I have been commuting to work (40 mile round trip) in a Miata for 3+ years. No problems yet. My first Miata had over 216k miles when I bought it and I drove it for 2 years. You just have to maintain them like any other car.
    1990 White NA - SOLD
    1994 Black NA - SOLD
    2006 Red NC - GT with limited slip, HIDs, all OEM.

I am 6 foot. School is 20 miles away and work is about 25. I don't think I'll have any issues if the Miata is as reliable as my Protege5 was.

Team Cheap Bastard
    President & Founder

Miata will be more fun to drive, that's for sure!

I bought mine a few weeks ago to be my daily. I have to say, it does an incredible job.

Nah I don't think I would want one as a daily driver. I drive mine quite often but it is nice to have other options available.

On the other hand my wife has been running her '02 Miata as a daily driver since '02.

The Miata will be a blast as long as you fit reasonably. I bought mine as a "toy" almost four years ago, but it was too fun not to be my daily. It came with about 93K on the clock, but I've racked up almost 60K ridiculously reliable miles since October '06. Those miles include lots of worry-free long road trips - including a 4,200 mile road trip to a track day at Laguna Seca, along with a few other hard track days.