Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Timing Belt/Water Pump Bitchfit.

Default Timing Belt/Water Pump Bitchfit.

Arrghhh I hate this subject, and Im sure all of you do as well. Im cheap, Im a broke college student. Anyone know where I can get this done cheap as well? Or is anyone down to have a group install at my place? Id provide beeerrsss..

Parts at Rosenthal $189

Timing belt replacement procedures at Miata.net

Now suggest a time and see if anyone bites. Make sure to let them know what part of town you live in.
    05 MX-5 Mazdaspeed #1024 Titanium Gray Mica

Take it to Rogue's place.

Quote Originally Posted by jrj512 View Post
    Take it to Rogue's place.
    +1

The only "cheap" solution is to DIY. Good learning experience. If you don't have the motivation or the ability, save-up and go to Rogue. Pretty much the only two viable options, other than TDR or an unknown mechanic. There is always the stealership...
    Polished Turd Racing

Mick wrote: "I think Jerrett is the best autocrosser I have ever seen naked."

As a heads up on that Rosenthal kit: the last few I've used for customers (and my own) came with the same water pump and pulleys as the cheaper eBay kits (the ones that ship with the ContiTech belt..GMB or something like that, been a while). I've heard this from a friend in NJ that bought one in the last month or so as well, so they are still doing it.

You'll notice the Rosenthal ad says they are "aftermarket parts of high quality" and the only parts that are listed as OEM are the valve cover gasket and the water pump gaskets. So please don't think that extra $100 is getting you all new Mazda parts.
    Last edited by Rob®; 11-05-2010 at 10:03 AM.

The ebay kits usually do not have the A/C and alternator belts as well. The one that does will still run you $165 with shipping and does not come with the OEM valve cover gasket. For ease of getting it right, I would still purchase the one from Rosenthal.
    05 MX-5 Mazdaspeed #1024 Titanium Gray Mica