Thread: FWD CV boots: level of difficulty?

Driver
    The Enclave at The Villages of Deer Run at Quail Arroyo Estates de Chandelier Crossing
    Blog Entries

Question FWD CV boots: level of difficulty?

Got a beater that needs outer CV boots. I know, this necessitates halfshaft removal. In theory it seems straightforward, but I've never done this.

For what it's worth, I'm not a complete mechanical gimp. Do my own oil changes and brakes -- including drums, though I HATE those. I can handle shocks, timing belt, and roll bar install on Ye Olde MX5 -- but this also seems to be one of the easiest cars in the world to work on.

So, should I try it? This service may determine the fate of the car, which is a 1991 Nissan Stanza with 187k. Before you balk, know that the car has had one VERY fastidious owner since new and had a JDM-pull motor installed less than 20k miles ago. It's not worth paying someone to do, since the car's market value is low. But if I can do it myself for the cost of parts, I'm looking at a pretty reliable beater that I can get some use out of before selling it.

Any and all input welcome, including the inevitable thread drift. (Because sometimes that's fun to read.)

Quote Originally Posted by redmenace
    ...including the inevitable thread drift. (Because sometimes that's fun to read.)
    What thread drift? Here, never!

Question is this, do you have service manual for the car? I'm just wondering how easy it is to remove the halfshafts...

I replaced the halfshafts on a '93 Integra once. What a crappy job that was.
    Iain

"We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw

I lived through swapping them out on my wife's Civic... Which means anyone should be able to hack it.
    Maybe 4 wheels aren't so bad after all... wickett.org