Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stranded for the first time tonight...

Default Stranded for the first time tonight...

The alternator died on the '99 Sport tonight. Nothing says "crappy evening" like waiting two hours for the AAA flatbed.

Got the car home and into the garage. Now I need to find an alternator - ASAP - since I'll be doing graduation/family stuff all day Saturday and I'd like to make the TMS event Sunday. That means I've got to find one and install it by Friday night.

Three questions:

1) Any ideas on who might have one in stock when I start calling around tomorrow morning?

2) lugnutjon suggested Mazda Heaven. Would you buy a junkyard alternator? Or am I better off buying a new/reman one, even if it means sitting out the race this weekend?

3) Any special I should watch out for when replacing the alternator? I've never done one before, but it doesn't look like it should be that difficult.
    Iain

"We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw

Disco the Battery first!

I'd try VatoZone and get a re-manufactured one; at least you know it's been tested. Plus you can get them to test your old one to make sure your not having other issues!

Quote Originally Posted by POS Racing
    Disco the Battery first!

I'd try VatoZone and get a re-manufactured one; at least you know it's been tested. Plus you can get them to test your old one to make sure your not having other issues!
    Funny thing that - I pulled into an Autozone when I noticed the "low voltage" light was coming on when I came to a stop. They read it, and they were pretty certain it was the alternator.

Unfortunately, I'd have to special order one through them (none of the local stores had one in stock), and it wouldn't be here 'till next week.
    Iain

"We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw

Quote Originally Posted by altiain