Thread: When to replace suspension bushings?

Default When to replace suspension bushings?

The car has a total of about 90K miles. I have been tracking my miata for over 4 years. The car has been a dedicated spec for 1.5 years. In that 1.5 years, I have logged over 20 HPDE weekends. I am wondering when to replace factory bushings. Granted, thrashing the car as much as I have, the car will not be as 'tight' as it was a few years back. Curious to read a few opinions from the board. When would one want/need/suggest to replace the bushings?
    TIA,
    Alan

I've heard it's a good upgrade regardless of the miles, especially for track/autoX cars.

That is if you want to go through the hassle of doing it. I remember reading that it's quite a PITA. You need a torch to get the old bushings out and a press to get the new ones in.

Chris
    91 Miata (#3), Rattle Can Grey(previous owner), Greddy Turbo @7 PSI and Manifold (Only items remaining from the kit), TDR I/C, Godspeed Radiator, RM DP, 2.5 Enthuza Bipes, BEGI AFPR, ACT, Lightened Stock Flywheel, Yellow Konis, FCM on Stock Springs, HDM2S, MOMO Wheel, Ratsback Front CF Lip, Black Rota's on EcstaXS, Corrado Rotors & XP8's on Front w/ 1.8 rears.

http://austinmiata.com/

Wishlist: Megasquirt to run 12-13 PSI, White non-spray paint job, 8" 6UL's, RX7 LSD, Evans Waterless Coolant

I had BAM <AJ> do the polyurethane bushings from TIEN they make a world of difference. It is an expensive upgrade; but well worth it. Gary did the upgrade as well about 2 or 3 months ago and he was very suprised at the noticable difference in the car. It really is night and day and I couldn't recommend a better upgrade for your miata that will make that much of a difference.
    Blah blah blah!

Quote Originally Posted by MiataMike View Post
    I had BAM <AJ> do the polyurethane bushings from TIEN they make a world of difference. It is an expensive upgrade.