Thread: Awe Crap

Default Awe Crap

Well, time for a new upper shock mount and shock. I'll set the story up as I traded suspesions with Adam last year. I got his '91 springs and AGX's, he got my Weapon'R coilovers and Koni shocks. Well, I've been riding on them for about 7 or 8 months now and have been hearing a rattle and clunk lately. I decided to check it out tonight, and low and behold I find this when I look under the hood

If your not sure what your looking at, it's the shock having ripped through the upper shock mount. My best guess is that neither Adam or I torqued it down. Well, I was planning on getting the Nopro Shock Dumpers, this just means I'm doing it quicker. Pretty sure I'm gonna need at least one new shock. Should I go ahead and get just one AGX, or drop the cash and get a set of 4 new shocks....either AGX's or Bilstiens
    2013 Mazda2 slushbox daily
    1993 Miata (future exocet donor)

I'd bet you might be able to salvage that shock. Buying one shock is going to give you a crap-tackula ride! Two would be better, if the old one can't be saved!

Looks like all you may need is a mount! Anyone here got one lying around?????

Let us know how we can help!

Im sure the thread on the shock pretty much gone. I'm wanting to get my suspension sorted out before I go to MSR in april, I guess this is my wake up call to get it done.

Quote Originally Posted by BigDmiata
    Im sure the thread on the shock pretty much gone.
    Dependent on how bad I'd bet the threads could be repaired, with a tap & die set. Plus only a small portion of the thread was affected, so worst case a spacer could be devised to get back into the good part of the thread!

"Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology."

It's possible, I just dont want to risk premature failure. I want my car to be back to a good solid form. Thats why I'm trying to decide between a full set of Bilstiens and AGX's.