Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mew Miata owner, looking for performance improvement

Oil Changer

Default Mew Miata owner, looking for performance improvement

A Miata newbie here. I just bought a 2001 special edition with 38,000 miles on it. While it is great to buzz around town in, I am seeking advice on performance improvement. What ever I do, I don't want the car to be real loud and I want it to be a dependable daily driver.

Has anyone had any experience with the "cold air" induction kits, teamed with an improved exhaust system? My guess is that this would provide very limited hp and torque improvement.

What about supercharger or turbochargers?

I would love to get some advice from some of the experts on this forum!
    Ernie

Team Cheap Bastard
    President & Founder

Welcome and congrats! Plenty of options for performance. How much do you have?

One of the speed freaks will chime in shortly.

If you know enough about building a turbo kit let me know, I have a K03 turbo and an intercooler...
    10/30/06 - 93' black primered MX5 1.6L
    Wiseco Pistons 9:1, Carrillo Rods, ARP head and main bolts, FM valves +1mm and stiffer springs, new lifters, main bearings, cometic head gasket, port and polish head, ready for boost....

Oil Changer

Well, I don't know much about turbo kits, but I am guessing that I will be learning more in the weeks to come.
    Ernie

well the intake is a good starting point.
    10/30/06 - 93' black primered MX5 1.6L
    Wiseco Pistons 9:1, Carrillo Rods, ARP head and main bolts, FM valves +1mm and stiffer springs, new lifters, main bearings, cometic head gasket, port and polish head, ready for boost....

Bolt-ons really won't do too much to increase the performance of the car. The extra sound may give you a seat of the pants performance gain though.

Think about saving for a basic supercharger setup. That would be a good performance gain.