Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about springs...

Default Question about springs...

I know I've already done this bass-ackwards, but shortly after I bought the car, I replaced the worn-out shocks with stock units. I was a newbie and didn't really know better, and I just needed the thing fixed (the ass end was prone to hopping off the ground on occasion). Anyhow, NOW I'd like to invest in a set of springs. So I'm wondering if there is anything out there that works well with stock shocks (Racing Beat claims theirs do, and the spring rates don't look too abusive), or should I just bite it and pony up for a whole new set of coilovers? This car is a daily driver that will see some long distance trips, with maybe an auto-x thrown in there once in a while... and there will be a blower under the hood before the end of the year.

Muchas Gracias in advance for any input!
    '94 Black & Black & Tan
    '99 head swap, JR header, TDR intake & header blanket, MegaSquirt, RB hollow bar, Tein Flex, 15x8 6ULs, HD M2 Sport, FM cat, Borla cat-back, black '95M interior, MOMO Zebrano, IL Motorsport console...

Dyno Days
    8/16/08 (bone stock): 103.1 hp/99.0 lb-ft - Dynojet
    8/23/08 (Borla cat-back): 108.2 hp/104.1 lb-ft - Dynojet
    8/13/11 (more stuff...): 126 hp/116 lb-ft - Mustang dyno

Roger Moore: the Danny White of James Bonds

Tein s-techs work well. They are slightly stiffer than stock, but not too stiff for factory style shocks. Eibachs should get along with your shocks, too.
    1994 R-package - gone, but not forgotten.
    1966 Toyota Land Cruiser FJ40. Restification in progress. or should I say De-RUSTification in progress?
    1984 Honda VF1100S. V4 Fury!

tein s tech
    Ride height drop, front -0.9 rear - 1.2
    spring rate, Front 235, rear 173

I was thinking of throwing these on my car just to hold me over for some time until i can save enough up for the tein flex kit. From what i've read on miata.net they are a pretty good set of springs.